Announcements‎ > ‎

Emerald Ash Borer (EAB) Warning from the City of Fitchburg

posted May 7, 2013, 2:39 PM by Oak Meadow Communications
From: Dana Dentice <Dana.Dentice@city.fitchburg.wi.us>
Date: Tue, Apr 9, 2013 at 8:32 PM
Subject: Save-an-Ash & EAB Info Meetings (April 18 & 20)
To: Greenfield Neighborhood <pgusv7@gmail.com>
Cc: Ed Bartell <Ed.Bartell@city.fitchburg.wi.us>, Scott Endl <Scott.Endl@city.fitchburg.wi.us>, Diane Dillett <diane@dillettcompany.com>, Melinda Douglass <melindad@charter.net>, Rod Bina <rbbina@charter.net>, Scott Endl <SEndl.COFPOST.COFDOMAIN@city.fitchburg.wi.us>, Terrell Brock <tabrock@charter.net>

Residents,
 

The emerald ash borer (EAB), a non-native beetle that has been killing ash trees throughout the Midwest and Canada, has recently been found less than 30 miles away in Janesville.  It has not yet been discovered in Dane County, but it will most likely be here in the near future, if it is not already here.  Once established, EAB will kill all ash trees that are not protected with an approved insecticide.

 

To prevent this devastation to our ash population, the City of Fitchburg has purchased special equipment to inject insecticide into the city-owned ash trees. However, the city budget allows us to save only 160 of our approximately 800 public ash trees. The remaining ash trees in parks and along streets will eventually be removed over a 5-year period (as set forth in Fitchburg's EAB Readiness and Response Plan)—unless they are treated against EAB.  You can help save them!  Participate in the Save-an-Ash program.
 

Don’t forget–your trees are providing environmental and property value benefits.  To calculate them, visit www.treebenefits.com.

 
Save-an-Ash Program
You can help save ash trees in your community by sponsoring their treatment to protect them from EAB. Adopt a park or street ash tree or make a general donation to the program.  Read our brochure to participate in this brand new program!

Dana Dentice
Fitchburg Parks, Recreation, and Forestry Department
Comments